Three Lathrop Gage Attorneys Successfully Conclude 2008 Election Races


Lathrop Gage members Kurt Schaefer (Jefferson City) and Eric Schmitt (Clayton) both gained Missouri Senate seats during the most recent election, while Overland Park's John Vratil won a seat in the Kansas Senate.

Mr. Schaefer unseated incumbent Chuck Graham to become the 19th District’s state senator-elect, while Mr. Schmitt won the 15th District, succeeding term-limited Mike Gibbons. For Mr. Schaefer, the 19th District encompasses Boone and Randolph counties, while Mr. Schmitt's district includes the St. Louis metro areas of Webster Groves, Kirkwood and areas along Interstate 44. Mr. Schaefer focuses his legal practice on environmental litigation and regulatory issues. Mr. Schmitt's practice is focused on real estate and litigation matters, and he has litigated dozens of land use cases as well as a myriad of other matters from general real estate and business disputes to administrative appeals and condemnation cases.

Mr. Vratil has served as a Kansas State Senator from the 11th Senate District since 1998. He has extensive litigation experience in matters involving securities, property taxation, contracts, employment claims, secured transactions, real estate, zoning and school law.

About Lathrop Gage:
A leading Midwest full-service law firm, Lathrop Gage L.C. has approximately 300 attorneys in 10 offices nationwide – from Denver, Colo. to New York, New York. In 2008, Chambers USA ranked Lathrop Gage’s corporate, environmental, intellectual property, litigation, real estate and labor and employment teams among the best in the Midwest. For more information, visit